Related Links
Share |

Superliga 2010 dates and venues announced

Top clubs from Major League Soccer and Mexican First Division return for fourth annual edition, beginning July 2010

NEW YORK – Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF) today unveiled the dates and venues for the 2010 edition of SuperLiga. The fourth installment of the tournament – which features top U.S. and Mexican soccer clubs and awards the winner with one of the biggest purses in the region – will begin Wednesday, July 14, just three days following the conclusion of this summer’s FIFA World Cup.


The first round of the 2010 edition will be staged in an eight day span that will include doubleheader dates at Toyota Park in the Chicago area (July 17) and Robertson Stadium in Houston, TX (July 18). Information for the semifinals and final to be played in August will be announced once teams qualify.


Competitive criteria determined which four teams would represent the United States in the tournament. Based on their 2009 regular season record, the top four MLS teams (who are not competing in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League) qualified for SuperLiga 2010: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo and New England Revolution. The four invited Mexican clubs participating in this edition of SuperLiga will be known later this spring, following the conclusion of the current tournament.


In its history, SuperLiga has crowned two Mexican champions (Pachuca, 2007 and Tigres, 2009) and one U.S. champion (New England Revolution, 2008). All three championship games have been determined by penalty kicks. During the inaugural edition of SuperLiga, CF Pachuca defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. on Aug. 30, 2007. In 2008, the all-MLS final saw the Revolution defeat the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. In 2009, Tigres UANL of Mexico defeated the Chicago Fire in front of a sell-out crowd at Toyota Park.


For ticket information, fans are encouraged to contact the local MLS club. The entire tournament will once again be broadcast live by TeleFutura in the United States.


Groups and schedule for SuperLiga 2010 will be announced in the spring.


SuperLiga 2010 Schedule*
* Subject to change


Wednesday, July 14
Game 1: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA
Game 2: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL


Thursday, July 15
Game 3: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 4: The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA


Saturday, July 17
Game 5: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL
Game 6: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL


Sunday, July 18 Game 7: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 8: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX


Tuesday, July 20
Game 9: Venue TBD – Boston / Foxborough, MA
Game 10: Toyota Park – Bridgeview, IL


Wednesday, July 21
Game 11: Robertson Stadium – Houston, TX
Game 12: The Home Depot Center – Carson, CA