Related Links
Share |

2010 SUM U-17 Cup: Dynamo 3, Revolution 1

Revolution U-17 youth team  falls to Houston Dynamo U-17s in the second group match of the 2010 SUM U-17 cup


The Houston Dynamo continued their impressive run in this year's U-17 Cup, defeating the New England Revolution 3-1 to earn three points and a share of first place with Chivas USA. Tamay Sanchez was the man of the match, scoring all three Dynamo goals.

In the 11th minute, Sanchez cut through two defenders before being dragged down in the penalty box. Sanchez stepped up to the penalty kick and fired a laser past Revs goalkeeper Ryan Simpson. New England tied the game in the 42nd minute when Diego Fagundez split two defenders to find Felix DeBonna streaking through the box. DeBonna, who only entered the game two minutes earlier, placed the ball past Dynamo goalkeeper Graham Wheeler and leveled the score.

The Revs' celebration was short-lived, though, as two minutes later, Sanchez stole the ball from a New England midfielder, took two steps, and fired a shot to the upper corner of the net. To cap things off, Sanchez picked up a ball from Isaiah Noreiga in the 56th minute and scored a Donovan-esque type goal, rocketing the ball from twelve yards out over the goalkeeper's head. Sanchez is currently the tournament's leading scorer and a front-runner for the tournament MVP award.

The Dynamo will take on Chivas USA at 6:30 p.m. on Monday night in a winner-take-all match for Group C.

Houston Dynamo (2-0) vs. New England Revolution (0-2)
2010 SUM U-17 Cup - Group C
July 24, 2010 –- Centennial Park, Friendswood TX

Scoring Summary:
HOU -– Tamay Sanchez 1 (penalty kick) 11
NE –- Felix DeBonna 1 (Diego Fagundez 1) 42
HOU –- Tamay Sanchez 2 (unassisted) 44
HOU –- Tamay Sanchez 3 (Isaiah Noreiga) 56

Houston Dynamo -- Graham Wheeler, Juan Ramirez, Bradley Bourgeois, Sebastian Karpen (Siegfried Casar 43), Luis Mendoza (Jose Christian Martinez 31), Alexandro Ochoa (Leo Ayala 31), Miguel Zapata, Alex Gonzalez (Manuel Chavez 39), Diego Martinez Del Campo (Isaiah Noreiga 45), Tamay Sanchez (Bryan Salazar 59), Martin Fiemawhle (Jordan Davies 51).
New England Revolution -- Ryan Simpson (Tyler Zon 31), Adrian Reifsynder (Christian Sady 31), Sean MacDonald, Peter Lee-Kramer (Forrest Sisk 31), Mitchell Taintor, Diego Fagundez, Jack Hilger (Kelvin Castillo 43), Dan Tchen, Frederico Ferre (Cole Denormandie 40), Jannick Kabala (Derek Medeiros 49), Peguy Ngatcha (Felix DeBonna 40).
Matches played with 30-minute halves.

All statistics contained in this boxscore are unofficial